#1 rule for comfort food in my case is after I eat it, I have to feel that “I know I am not suppose to eat this much, but I don’t care because I feel good right now”

Today we going to look at some food in California that make me feel like a winner after I pig out.These places are along the routes I travel weekly, and would recommend other people to try if they have a chance.

1. Mushroom Cheesesteaks – Jersey Joe’s Hoagies & Cheesesteaks

One smell of the lovely thinly sliced 1/2 pound rib eye steak , enclosed with melted American cheese in a roll will make you forget about salad, fruits, and any other healthy food you suppose to stick with. When I come here, I allow myself to let go and enjoy the juicy meat slices, stir fried onions, and the soft buns.

With their motto “Your first real Cheesesteak is like your first great kiss,” you know you’re in for something devilish good.

Address: 21 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070

Website: http://www.jerseyjoes.com/index.html

2. Stuffed Jumbo Prawn Pasta – Fish Hopper

Circling around Cannery Row and did not know what to eat, we held our breath and went into the restaurant Fish Hopper. We ordered stuffed jumbo prawn pasta, and there the tender crab meat, the large shrimps, and the flavorful sauce had me dreaming about eating it for the next couple of days. I don’t care how much calorie may be packed into the pasta dish, but I was satisfied afterward while taking a walk patting my belly.

Fish Hopper can be found in Monterey and Kona-Hawaii.

Website: http://www.fishhopper.com/

3. Crab Cake Sandwich – Ferry Building Farmer’s Market

Every Saturday morning till 2pm, the grounds around Ferry Building in San Francisco are filled with small eats, fresh vegetables, meat, cheese produce vendors. I certainly enjoy getting a plate of food, eat at the tables provided there, and enjoy the warm sunny weather with the rest of San Franciscans. I ordered this yummy crab cake sandwich when I came with my cousin, and this is one of the reasons why I keep going back again and again. This sandwich is rich in flavor, yet does not make you feel sick afterward like some comfy food…

Time: Saturday 8am-2pm

Address: 1 Ferry Bldg, Ste 260, San Francisco, CA 94111

4. Double Sauce Noodle Combo – TW Village Bistro

I miss food in Asia from time to time, and now there is a new place I can indulge in some good Taiwanese food without paying for the long distance travel fees. TW Village Bistro in San Mateo just opened recently, and I love eating there.

I originally wanted to order sesame sauce noodle, but when I saw they have a noodle combo where you can sesame and another sauce on the noodle at the same time, I raised my hands and said YES. It did not disappoint me. Having two sauces at the same time makes the dish event better. Their beef noodle soup, green onion pancake, and many other dishes (besides none Taiwanese dishes like wonton) brings back memories from eating in Taiwan. Glad to have a decent place to go when missing food from home!

Address: 2946 S Norfolk St, San Mateo, CA 94403 (Hidden in Marina Shopping Plaza)